Contact: Jeff Morgan, 515-281-3858

Gov. Branstad and Lt. Governor Reynolds present
“Excellence in History” awards
SHSI program recognizes outstanding contributions to Iowa history

DES MOINES – Gov. Terry E. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds and John Brown of the State Historical Society of Iowa Board of Trustees presented this year’s “Awards for Excellence in History” this week at the State Capitol in Des Moines. Through the awards program, the State Historical Society of Iowa Board of Trustees recognizes individuals, organizations and communities who made outstanding contributions last year to the study and practice of Iowa history.
“As many people know, I am passionate about Iowa and proud of our state’s history,” Branstad said. “So I am pleased to recognize the recipients of this year’s ‘Awards for Excellence in History’ and appreciate the dedication they have shown in preserving and sharing the history of Iowa. “It is an honor to recognize these individuals who devote their time and energy to documenting and sharing Iowa history,” Reynolds said. “I would like to congratulate this year’s award recipients and encourage Iowans across the state to enjoy and learn more about the history of our great state. These awards recognize the best of Iowa history and we are pleased to present them to our honorees,” said Brown, past chair of the State Historical Society of Iowa Board of Trustees. “You are commended on this notable achievement and we are truly grateful for your contribution to the rich history of our state.”

Loren Horton Community History Award
This award is named in honor of Loren Horton, who represented the State Historical Society of Iowa in many capacities from 1973 until his retirement in 1996. As SHSI’s field services coordinator and senior historian, Horton’s work brought him in close contact with many local historical organizations. In keeping with that legacy, this award recognizes the best project that increases awareness and participation in Iowa history on a local level. The award recognizes an individual, group, or organization whose outstanding local history project was completed during the previous calendar year.

  • Award Recipient: Madison County Historic Preservation Commission, Winterset, Iowa
  • Project: National Register of Historic Places nomination for Winterset Courthouse Square Historic District
Madison County Historic Preservation Commission and Mayor Jim Olson with Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds and Governor Terry Branstad


Return to Courthouse Historic District